Interview

Interview with Nikhil Ramteke – the author of The 365 days

Hello friends,

Here I come up with my first interview in this blog. And I’m glad that the debut interview is with the author of the book “The 365 Days” – Nikhil Ramteke.

First of all, let’s congratulate Nikhil sir for his successful debut book. And thanks to World’s DNA for availing me a chance to interview the author Nikhil Ramteke.

Who is Nikhil Ramteke?
   Nikhil Ramteke is an M-Tech in Chemical Technology. He is currently working as a Production Manager in a leading multinational FMCG giant -IFFCO, since 8 years. Born & brought up in Nagpur, Maharashtra, he currently stays in Sharjah, UAE. Apart from his passion of writing, he is a qualified painter, nominated photographer & an avid traveller. Intrigued by Indian labor’s situation in gulf, he narrates a heartbreaking story & his experience in UAE. “The 365 days” is his debut novel.This novel has earned nearly 108 reviews in Amazon with 50+ five star reviews. 

And the question starts…

1. What sort of unique cream have you baked in your book and do you trust it entices the readers to taste it? 

   Now a days, Indian writing has become cliché (except traditional & few contemporary authors who still believe in literature).The new generation authors are using only one recipe romance & to certain extent mythology. (No hard feelings).But this has made us to forget the taste of real literature. Bringing out a less used cream is equally challenging and risky. But I wanted to go for it. I believe my book is treat for those who look forward towards literature.

2. How did the thought of writing a book on the social issue of the struggles faced by Indian labors in gulf strike you?

   It has been almost a decade that I am working in UAE. It’s like a second home for me. My workplace allows me to deal with all kinds of expatriates like Whites, Indians, Bangladeshi, Pakistani & Sri-Lankan’s. While doing so I came to know about how they landed in Gulf. The situation back home and the pathetic living & working conditions shocked me. It was something which I wanted the world to know about-Kerala Gulf Diaspora. Very less people know about this social issue of the struggles faced by Indian labors in Gulf. It was the sufferings of all those people which engulfed me. More than a motive I felt like a moral responsibility of mine to highlight the things in a respectable manner.

3. Being a debut author, what are the hardships you have come across in the process of publishing your book?

   For every budding author the challenges are the same. The only difference is how he/she deals with it.

4. How far is the support of your family supplemented the book?

   Everyone supported specially my wife.

5. How did you react on receiving the very first paperback copy of your book in hands?
   It was dream come true. When I riffled the pages with my fingers, I smelled the aroma of fresh ink on paper, glue and my hard work complied.

6. How did you manage time between your routine work and writing? Are your words flows unconditionally in your bed times or did you assign time for it?

   I am a family man.Apart from work and family –I got nearly no time for writing. So I mostly wrote on weekends.

7. What pushed you to be a writer? 

   The idea of ending up in the bracket of 9 am to 6pm on office desk and the thought of dying without leaving any trace of our birth forced me to write.

8. It’s a common saying that only an avid reader becomes a writer. Do you agree with this ? And share the books / authors which / who inspired you.

   Not actually. It depends on individual. The work of R.K.Narayan, Ruskin Bond, Pu.La Deshpande (Marathi) & Shivaji Sawant(Marathi) has inspired me a lot.

9. What are the hard works you underwent in your book “The 365 days” to make it a great success?

I think now a days it’s not the content that matters much. It’s all about how you market your book to the right audience. I am still in a process.

10. Share some memorable encounters you had with the readers/ fans of your book.

   One of the YouTube reviewer compared my work to the Malgudi” type of writing which Mr.R.K.Narayan used to write. That was one most memorable comment for me till date.

11. Some inspiring words to the budding writers who wish to publish their work.

   I still didn’t leave any footmarks. I have a long way to go.

12. Share some hints about your upcoming project.

   A fiction based on real events with social issue content.
I convey my gratitude for the patience you concerned to answer the questionnaire. Best wishes for your upcoming project sir.
Thanks for reading. Please leave your valuable feedback in comments. And order your copy of the book @ http://www.amazon.in/gp/aw/d/8193298845/ref=mp_s_a_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1492005366&sr=8-1&pi=AC_SX118_SY170_QL70&keywords=the+365+days

Leave a Reply

